Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

Super Secret Project Revealed: Cast Resin Hoot Owl Pendants April 14, 2010

Filed under: craft,resin crafts — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 1:58 pm

I hope every one is having a fantastic week. I am sure enjoying the weather here in Central Indiana- a perfect 75 degrees! Friday looks like it may be the day I get the garden tilled, and then I’ll have a few gardening posts for you now and then in addition to this craftiness!

Today I wanted to share with you something I’ve been referring to as my “super secret project” over on Facebook (are you a fan yet by the way? Click here to become one!) and I’m pretty excited to share this with you because I’m really looking forward to some feedback.

I’ve been wanting to expand the Sunday Afternoon Housewife line a bit, and I figured a really fun way to go about it might be making my own molds to cast resin in. I really enjoy working with resin because it always keeps me guessing every single time I try a new project! Anyway, I purchased some mold making materials and then went about casting my own mold and then casting resin inside that mold to create unique resin pendant.

My first go at it has been only moderately successful (and by first go at it, I mean after something like 5 times of ruining molds before I got the hang of this new medium!). So, I made a simple cast of an old metal owl pendant I own to see what would happen. The end result? Well, take a look:

First two rounds of casting from my handmade mold

This is the second cast from the handmade mold

The green one was the first one I made- could use a bit more sanding/ polishing

So, I’d love to know what you think about these. Are these something you like or think you would wear or possibly buy as a gift? Or, do you find them ugly and wonder what on earth I was thinking? Honesty is the best policy around here, so please share your thoughts! Of course if you like these, I’ll make more in more colors and probably work on perfecting the process, and if you tell me you hate it, well, then I’m back to the drawing board! Comments, please!

 

7 Responses to “Super Secret Project Revealed: Cast Resin Hoot Owl Pendants”

  1. Amber Says:

    I like the pendants, I think if you made them shinier they would look better. For some reason I think the green one turned out better than the pink one (maybe a bad camera angle?)…but I would love to see them in other colors. I would totally buy one.

  2. jenneh Says:

    I don’t hate it, but I’m not totally feeling it. I think the form/details of the owl kind of gets lost in a solid color.

  3. sundayafternoonhousewife Says:

    Thanks ladies! Amber, I can certainly work on making them shinier- more polishing will do that… Thanks for the comment and encouragement Amber!

    Jenny, I hear what you are saying about the solid colors. Honestly, I sort of had the same thought, but then in person I think the detail is more obvious too… It’s kinda hard to get a real feel for the fun texture it has from the photo. Thanks for stopping by the blog Jenny!

    Two things for me to think about… Keep the comments coming!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    I agree about detail being lost….what about some little painted ‘flairs’? A little white in the eye, or some darker paint (or whatever/marker/ect) detailing around feathers?

    Cute, tho! Love me some owls! :) Way to expand your projects/collection, lady! Keep it up! :)

  5. jenneh Says:

    In person! Yes! I like that they look like gummy owls.

  6. Tania Says:

    I think these are harder to see on the white background. You know what I would do? Take those babies outside, hang them off of a tree limb or something, and let us see what they look like! I think it will be help to see how they reflect/absorb/look in an actual environment!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.