Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

Trip Hazard Update Part 1 January 2, 2010

Filed under: craft,Craft Room Clean Up,Miscellany — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 6:29 pm

Happy New Year! I started cleaning up the craft room right after my last post. The first things I actually did were hang up all the art and other kitschy things that have been laying around forever hoping to be displayed on the walls. I hung up all my owl paintings which were a gift from the wonderful MaRut from Craftster, and then all the kitschy owl things my mom has gotten for me at garage sales. After I got those things hung up and safely out of the way, I started by shoving all the boxes that belonged in my husband’s office into his office. The next step was just what I could not resist, sweep all the paper pieces, resin shavings, scrabble tile wood shavings, and, of course, pet hair, up and off the floor. I swept and moved all things that weren’t going into the trash up and onto the couch or table. I threw away all the trash on the floor and then went through all the trash on my craft table and threw it away, too. I carried out a whole bag of garbage! That still left an awful lot of stuff on the table, but as you can see from one of the photos, the table is actually visible through all the supplies still piled on top of it. I also got the shelf assembled and put some stuff away on it!  So, as promised, I’m giving you some updated photos. I still have a lot to sift through- I haven’t even touched the closet yet, but I’m starting to feel better about this mess. It might actually be tamed before I have to head back to work on the 11th.

In other end of year/ start of the year news, I was turned onto this really awesome post by The Long Thread. I love my CraftZine/ Facebook friendship because I surely would’ve missed this if it weren’t posted on Facebook.  I don’t have the time like I wish I did to try all the awesome craft tutorials I come across in blogs and on Craftster, but here, The Long Thread put together a list of the Top 100 Tutorials of 2009. There’s a lot of stuff to try. A LOT! Some things I really can’t wait to try include Made by Rae’s Buttercup Bag and the Tool Apron from Sew What! Bags. I also really can’t wait to make the mmmcrafts Ballerina Tooth Fairy Pillow for all3 of  my nieces (though 2 of them probably don’t need it for another year or so.) And, I may just have to figure out how to make a much larger version of the owl costume by Alpha mom for my Halloween costume! Lastly, I certainly must make a few of Tangarang’s DIY cake stands. I can tell already its going to be a busy, crafty, and productive year!

 

One Response to “Trip Hazard Update Part 1”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Wow, great job on your clean-up progress – very inspiring…. I think I may go clean some of my own mess now! Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

