Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

SXSW Day One March 18, 2010

Filed under: music,sxsw,Texas 2010,Travel — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 12:22 am

Oh I wish I had pictures to share today! I don’t because I didn’t plan ahead and I don’t have my camera cord with me. I am using the Levi Fader Fort blogger lounge to send this message out. Tomorrow I will remember to bring it. Today has been a great day in Austin, TX. The sun is shining, the sky is blue, Mark is getting sunburnt (ok,maybe that’s not good, but it is a good indication we are in Austin!)… This morning I woke up with a mission to get from where I slept last night to where I was to sleep tonight, and after about 20 minutes of waiting at a bus stop I got on a Metro bus and got to my destination with much less trouble than I had anticipated. We are staying a a cute little place called the “Wee cottage” on the south side of Austin. I arrived and waited for my husband to get in. It was wonderful to see him after being apart for 6 days! He and the other half of Standard Recording headed out to 6th street to get their party on, and I waited for my lunch date to arrive. I had a great lunch with the awesome Jennifer Perkins at an awesome Mexican place. I filled up on salsa and quesadilla pretty fast, and we spent lunch chatting about all sorts of crafty goodness. It was such a fun lunch! (Thanks again Jennifer!) After that, I met up with my hubby and friends down on 6th street. Since then we have been scouring for free booze and free, good music. Right now we are planted at the Levi Fader Fort enjoying free Budwieser and Southern Comfort drinks. Our plans for the rest of this St. Patty’s day don’t amount to much. We have a day party tomorrow at the Dirty Dog. We have to get up early to get ready for our party.

If you haven’t heard the news yet, we are having a day party tomorrow with free music, free make-and-take crafts hosted by Etsy Austin, free on-demand silk screen shirts from Yudu/Provocraft, and Jenny Hart from Sublime Stitching will be there with goodies and patterns, and I’ll be there with my jewelry as well. The party kicks off at noon and goes til 6 at the Dirty Dog, so please stop by and say hi! If you need more details, you can visit the Standard Recording site for RSVP info. It is free for you to get in, but we do ask for you to RSVP if you’re coming.

I look forward to seeing ya’ll tomorrow. Stop by my table and say hello. Mention the secret code word “CRAFTY” and get a free prize with a purchase of a pendant!

Rock and Roll!

 

One Response to “SXSW Day One”

  1. So glad you enjoyed Polvos! Don’t forget to check out Torchy’s Tacos walking distance from your digs. Hope the showcase is doing well.


Leave a Reply

