Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

Handpicked from the Bloomington Handmade Market April 8, 2010

Filed under: Craft Fairs,Favorites — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 8:00 am

Last Saturday I was at the Bloomington Handmade Market spring event, and what a wonderful time I had! I was so busy most of the day selling my jewelry I never got a break, but thankfully my dear friend Liz took time out of her day to come sit at my booth for the last 30 minutes of the show so I could take a walk around and see all there was to see. I saw several of consistent favorites including Sadly Harmless, Cordial Kitten, and 50 Little Birds, but I also discovered some great new favorites!

Bird Garland by Paper Acorn

I was very lucky to be set up next to the fantastic Paper Acorn. While I didn’t get much chance to talk to Jessica, the papersmith behind the awesome Paper Acorn, because of both of us being so darn busy, I really enjoyed taking a minute to look at all the gorgeous paper creations.

Paper Acorn boxes by Paper Acorn

I really loved her garlands and her amazing little paper bird and acorn boxes. Even her adorable wax envelope and paper acorn cut-out business cards were enough to make me swoon! I am telling all my friends planning weddings this year that they must check out Paper Acorn for awesome favor boxes, seating cards, and more!

Book Safe by Conduit Press

Another awesome booth I stopped and ogled at was Conduit Press. The book safes caught my eye, and take a look at this awesome Poe book safe! Aside from the book safes, Conduit Press also makes delightful journals- some leather bound, and some from upcycled materials like Capri Sun pouches. I highly suggest taking a look at the good coming from Conduit Press!

Shampoo That Rocks by Get Lathered!

I’ll admit I was slighly skeptical when Rhonda of Get Lathered! tried to sell me on some of her bar-style shampoos and conditioners, but that was awfully silly of me! I honestly had never heard of bar shampoo, but she gave me a little instruction sheet and I purchased sample sizes of both a shampoo (Grenadine scented) and a conditioner (rosemary mint scented).

Conditioner That Rolls by Get Lathered!

I don’t know if I will ever wash my hair with the “regular” stuff again. I have to say, I am not one who usually pays much attention to my hair, but after the first use of the shampoo and conditioner, I am hooked for life. In the shower, the shampoo lathers like crazy, and the conditioner feels so silky. After my first use my hair smelled wonderful all day, it felt cleaner, lighter (seriously!), and the conditioner made my hair so easy to brush out both before and after blow-drying (I usually face a slightly tangled mess after blow drying!). I hope you’ll take the time to check out Get Lathered! and pick up some of her super awesome shampoo and conditioner.

If you missed Bloomington Handmade Market, don’t be sad. With over 1,300 attendees at Saturday’s show, you know there will be another. In the meantime you can catch a few of the BHM vendors (My Wire Empire, GeekSoap, and myself) plus more at the Handmade Promenade on April 17th at Luna Music on 52nd and College. If you can hold out even longer, there will be 80+ vendors at the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange on June 12th! See you then!

 

5 Responses to “Handpicked from the Bloomington Handmade Market”

  1. Pam Says:

    I got some GeekSoap, but meant to go back to GetLathered…darn! My son’s gf got some though. Can’t wait to move back and see more of the indie arty crafty scene! I wish I could come to your event next weekend but we will be in Alabama.:( Have fun!

  2. Laura Raynor Says:

    Omg! What a cool site! Is this a blog, or what? If so how often do you post? This is great… and, I’m definitely getting one of those book safes.

    • sundayafternoonhousewife Says:

      Hi Laura, Yes, this is my blog/ website which chronicles all my craft doings and travels. Thanks for stopping by. I normally post 3-4 times a week, so check back often, and thanks for commenting!

  3. thea Says:

    so you know, conduitpress is my good friend talia, and she blogs and twitters and facebooks, too!

    http://conduitpress.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

