Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

Friday Is the Best Day April 9, 2010

Filed under: craft,Craft Fairs,Midland Arts and Antiques Market,Miscellany,Travel — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 8:23 pm

I really love Fridays. It’s my favorite day of the week for many reasons, but mainly because Friday is MY day. I work for no man and no institution; on Fridays, I only work for myself.

Today has been quite a busy day. I have been running errands most of the day, but those errands have resulted in getting  to go to 4 of my most favorite places: bookstore, craft store, craft store, and the other craft store. Yes, I went to 3 craft stores today (and got something at each one)!

I got a new book today, The Handmade Market Place: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally, and Online. I started reading as soon as I got in the car (don’t worry, my husband was doing the driving) and I am only about 20 pages in, but I already love it. I can’t wait to finish reading this book!

My new jewelry display stand!

After the book store, I hit the craft stores and got lots of supplies. I got this new-to-me display stand the other day at Midland Arts and Antiques, and it required some gussying-up, so I got what I needed to do that, as well as some other supplies for a super secret project I hope to share later next week, and I also got some other supplies I needed like resin and a new circle hole punch.

officially a craft disaster area

This week my dining room table turned into my favorite place to work. I’m not sure why this happened, but the likely cause is the fact that the craft room has become a total disaster area (again). But this picture is the dining room table. Well, it’s under there somewhere, I swear! I know it looks like a total mess, and it is (yes that is a half-consumed bottle of wine from 2 days ago, an almost fully consumed bag of chocolate Cadburry Mini Eggs, deodorant (why?), but holy craft, I got a lot done this week in this cozy, crafty mess!

More new map inspired bracelets

I had such a great response (sold out!) to my new bracelets last week at the Bloomington Handmade Market that I made more. I also made some other bracelets with circles:

New circle picture bracelets

I’ve been working on some new types of pendants this week too, including these 3/4″ metal pendants which have a vintage picture and then a resin layer:

New metal and resin pendants

And then I’ve also made half a dozen pairs of 1/2″ metal and resin earrings. This picture shows some of the earrings before I added the hang-it-off-your-ear part:

New earrings...

I’ve also spent a lot of time this week working on packaging up these new goodies (see the display picture).  Packaging always takes more time than I think it should. I’m hoping to figure out a way to stream-line this process in the very near future.

A little cherry on the top of the week is that late last night, I got word I have been accepted to attend the Waterloo Arts Fest in Cleveland, Ohio in late June.

The Waterloo Arts Fest News follows news from last week that I was accepted into the East Nashville Arts Festival in Nashville, Tennessee in late May, which means I’ve got to get my suitcase packed because I’m hitting the road the next couple of months! What feels really great is that earlier this year I told myself I wanted to go to at least 2 more states this year for fairs, TN and OH, and now I feel great because I get to go! I’m going to update my goal for the year and hope that I might now be able to add Illinois and either Michigan, Wisconsin or Minnesota to the list for the year. Whew!

Ok, so one last plug:  if you are in the Mooresville area tomorrow, I’ll be at the high school from 9am-3pm for the 26th annual fair there. It should be a fun day- there are raffle prizes, food, and more. Stop by and say hello, but if I don’t see you, have a great weekend!

 

One Response to “Friday Is the Best Day”

  1. LOVE the bracelets! And the new jewelry stand looks cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

