Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

INDIEana Handicraft Exchange Wrap Up June 18, 2010

Filed under: craft,Craft Fairs,Favorites,giveaway — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 10:23 am

Last Saturday was the most awesome ever INDIEana Handicraft Exchange.  If you didn’t get to make it to the event, you’re probably regretting it already. With over 100 booths and vendors from all across the continent, the biggest problem I had all day was trying not to spend every last cent of my own hard earned money!

I was happy to be set up again in Gallery #2. I played a little with my booth space this time around, trying something a bit different, and I really like the way it worked for me. In case you didn’t get to see my booth, it looked a little something like this:

My Booth at the IHE

Sunday Afternoon Housewife Booth!

This was the first time I did any type of “L” shape table display, and it really did work out for me! I’d love to hear what you thought of the new display- was it easier for you on the other side of the table?

Of course, all the time I show you what my stuff looks like, so I won’t share anymore about my stuf today. Let’s talk about all the awesome that I bought and loved at the IHE instead! With so many new vendors this summer, I wanted to make checking them out a major priority, and I’m way glad I did!

One booth that had me at first glance was 16 Sparrows. I went back to the booth twice after the initial visit trying to decide because I have always, as long as I can remember, been a sucker for cool stationary, and the ladies at 16 Sparrows have everything one needs to write beautiful letters, keep addresses, label goodies, and all while showing a bit of tounge-in-cheek humor. I couldn’t decide exactly what I wanted most, but I ended up with this (P.S. dear husband don’t look if you are reading, I’m trying to hide this from you until September):

One Bad Ass Card from 16 Sparrows

Down in the Underground, which on second thought really seemed kind of appropriate for this vendor, was Spellbound Soapworks. Much like stationary, I love a good soap. Sometimes I like my soap for the smell or ingredients, but this may be the first time I have ever bought a soap based solely on the fact that it made me laugh out loud with joy and giggle all the way back to my booth, and then made me decide I had to go back for another. While most of the Spellbound Soapworks soap was more sci-fi than anything, this was my two bar purchase (yes, I got the one pictured and one purple with sparkles for my neighbors ):

Gay Bar

While I still have a lovely bar of moustache soap from GEEKSOAP in my guest bathroom, as soon as it is gone, I’ll be putting out the Gay Bar!

No explanation required

I think you would be hard pressed to call RAR RAR Press, anything but pretty fucking awesome. A table full of fun prints and postcards, all made using hand set type left me standing there for eternity trying to decide what I couldn’t live without. I settled on the above post card. I’ll be saving it for a very special occasion.

Uncommon: Things for the Home was yet another booth that really caught my eye. Lots of lovely things all handmade of wood and awesomeness. I had a hard time deciding (and I’m sure the guy thought I was nuts asking so many questions about coasters) but I ended up with a set of gorgeous wooden coasters. I’m glad I finally took this picture so I can put them to use:

Wooden doily coasters from Uncommon

Really cute buttons will get me every time, and at the booth of The Sweetie Pie Press grabbed and wouldn’t let go. When I saw these buttons with 1″ stories, I knew I had to dig through the bowl until I found every single story there was to have.

1" stories by Sweetie Pie Press

One of my last purchases was from a vendor I have written about before: Get Lathered. This solid shampoo and conditioner (yes, solid- like bar soap) I first encountered at the Bloomington Handmade Market. I was a bit leery back then, but since then I have expressed pretty strongly to everyone who will listen about how much I LOVE this product.

shampoo and conditioner that Rocks n Rolls

If you haven’t tried this yet, then your hair isn’t as happy as it could be. Trust me, you need to get some shampoo and conditioner from Get Lathered.

There were several other vendors whose stuff I totally adored. If these awesome goods aren’t blowing your mind enough, you also should really check out So Silly for great silk-screened shirts for kids, Foxglove Accessories for very unique jewelry all made from postage stamps, and Crimson Tate for handmade quilts and other awesome hand sewn accessories.

So tell me, if you made it to the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange, who was your favorite (or favorites!). Don’t just sit there and be a blog lurker, post and tell me what you love! I’ve got a special something for you if you do:

Comment on today's blog and win this sample of Shampoo that Rocks from Get Lathered!

I’ll wait a week for you to realize how bad you want this, and then I will choose a comment at random and give that lucky person this fantastic sample of Shampoo That Rocks from Get Lathered. And you know  I want this really bad for myself, so maybe you can just keep your comments to yourself. (j/k!!!)

 

5 Responses to “INDIEana Handicraft Exchange Wrap Up”

  1. Aggie Says:

    Wow! The solid shampoo and conditioner from Get Lathered looks so gorgeous, have never seen anything like it. They would look so beautiful on a nice soap dish in the shower.

  2. Oh, me me me! I didn’t get to walk around much that day, as I was by myself :(. Feel sorry for me yet? Great post!
    xoxo,
    Kristin

  3. Spellbound Soapworks – we love their stuff.

  4. sundayafternoonhousewife Says:

    Kristin- I do feel sorry for you! But at least you probably left with more money since you didn’t spend at all like I did!

  5. Jen W. Says:

    I didn’t get to see much, but Vanessa Monfreda’s pinata (monsters!) booth was fun.

    I’m glad you told me about the soap. It’s amazing. My only regret: not purchasing the full-size version! 🙂


Leave a Reply

