Sunday Afternoon Housewife

Handmade Crafts and Unsolicited Advice

100th Post Thank You and an Awesome Slice of Press June 24, 2010

Filed under: Business,craft,Miscellany — sundayafternoonhousewife @ 7:36 pm

Hey Lovelies! Well, I haven’t posted anything for a couple of days because 1. I have been really busy getting ready for the Waterloo Arts Fest this weekend and Bazaar Bizarre next weekend (yes, for some reason Fate has decided to send me to Cleveland, OH two weekends in a row!) and 2. I have been putting it off because I knew my next post (er, this post) would be post #100 and I felt I should have some kind of super special post for post #100, but I didn’t know what to write!

I suppose what it comes down to is that I just want to say thank you (yes, to you!). It seems like I’ve come an awful long way in a year, and I’m pretty darn happy to admit it. I know I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for encouragement and support from some very great people. I would love to say thank you to my wonderful husband, Mark, and the support he gives me personally and from Standard Recording Company; to Amanda Mauer-Tafflinger, owner of the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange and Homespun, for all her encouragement in the beginning as well as for her continued support; to my best-ever booth mate and friend, Jen of EleanorMac, without whom I might not be able to get to some of these awesome fairs, and also without whom I certainly would have much fewer bathroom breaks; and to my newly found extended Texas-sized family including Jessica of Funky Finds, Tania of The Curious Cake Shoppe, and Jennifer of Blueskysunburn Creations– all three of you great ladies have been great support whether you know it not! Of course most importantly I would love to thank my customers. Each and every person who has bought a scrabble tile pendant over the last year, became a fan on Facebook, or given me a #FollowFriday shout on Twitter has been an important part in helping me grow as a person and a business.

The next few months hold lots of exciting things for Sunday Afternoon Housewife. Most exciting is that very soon I will have a new website. Also exciting is that I am going to be spending the rest of my summer traveling all over the place meeting lots of new people and visiting with some old pals. I’m really looking forward to it.

Now, some icing this pseudo-anniversary cake is that today I was featured on VenusZine.com. The fantastic Sarah Richcreek of The Hot Cookie wrote a fantastic article on the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange, and there she included a bit of my work, a bowl full of moustache pendants (top right corner). Thanks so much for including me Sarah! As a regular reader of VZ, I have to say I am pretty excited about being on Venus Zine!

Well, tomorrow morning I’ll be hustlin’ round like crazy, trying to get out the door and on the road at a reasonable hour in hopes of reaching Cleveland, also at a reasonable hour. I’m really looking forward to meeting lots of new people and seeing lots of new artists. You can bet I’ll be writing about them when I get home, so stay tuned for post #101!

Oh by the way Steph Mineart is the lucky winner of this last week’s blog contest! Congrats on your win Steph! Let me know where I can deliver your treat!

 

One Response to “100th Post Thank You and an Awesome Slice of Press”

  1. Jen Says:

    It’s awesome to watch your business grow at such a rapid pace! You do wonderful work and deserve the recognition. 🙂


Leave a Reply

